Love Stories for Girls by Susana H. Case

beaCH
.
Love Stories for Girls 
.
Every distortion I learned about love
came from romance comics,
and later, telenovelas.
I blame the words love at first sight.
I blame walking in the rain,
walking on beaches,
dancing on beaches.
I blame red convertibles.
I blame messages about the unimportance
of a career.
I blame unrealistically perfect bodies
and men with full heads of hair.
I blame super-long eyelashes
and the negative portrayal of eyeglasses.
I blame the idea of nice girls.
I blame kissing. Really—
as if kissing fries the brain
and afterward, everyone ends up in love
with an inappropriate person
and they’re never the same again.
I blame makeup that tears never smear.
I blame tears.
.
susanaSusana H. Case has authored eight books of poetry, most recently The Damage Done, Broadstone Books, 2022, which won her a third Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. Her books have previously also won an IPPY, a NYC Big Book Award Distinguished Favorite award, and she was a finalist for the Eric Hoffer Book Award, the American Book Fest Award, and the International Book Awards. She co-edited, with Margo Taft Stever, the anthology I Wanna Be Loved by You: Poems on Marilyn Monroe, Milk and Cake Press, 2022. Case currently is a co-editor of Slapering Hol Press. If This Isn’t Love is forthcoming from Broadstone Books. Susana H Case
.

Leave a comment